Customer Reviews for Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's

Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's

The Nike Kobe 8 System basketball shoe is designed to fit like an extension of Kobe’s foot for a quick first step. Engineered mesh upper provides a dynamic, ultra-lightweight fit that moves with the foot and offers 360º of breathability. Phylon™ midsole delivers lightweight comfort and stability. Full-length Lunarlon midsole insert adds lightweight cushioning that sits lower internally to offer better stability. One-millimeter rubber outsole combines a classic herringbone pattern with a snake scale-inspired traction pattern. Less rubber than traditional outsoles for lightweight durability and excellent multi-surface traction. 3-D anatomical heel counter provides a sleek, locked down fit. Low Suggested for point guard, shooting guard, and forward. Wt. 9.6 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.777 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(229 Reviews) 229
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 229 reviews
5 stars
193
4 stars
25
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
0
220 out of 229(96%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's
Review 1 for Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just got them

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Phoenix az
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:fashion
User submitted photo
Kool shoe first kobe pair like the look
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, cool colors, comfortable, breathable
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sickest Color Way of the Year

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Fl
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
User submitted photo
The "what the Kobe's" 8s are fire!
Pros: breaks in easy, good traction, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, easy to clean, durable, comfortable, stays clean a long time
Cons: poor ankle support, runs small, not breathable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Basketball Shoe This Year

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Raleigh, NC
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
User submitted photo
The lightest basketball shoe out there. Whenever I'm playing on the court, I feel so agile and quick. The support and cushioning is phenomenal. I have no complaints with this shoe. Except that all the best color ways are sold out :( good thing I got my hands on a pair of the YOTS.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, cool colors, easy to clean, durable, comfortable, breathable
Cons: runs small
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Looking Shoe

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Memphis, TN
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:fashion
User submitted photo
I bought the Kobe VIII (blue) for my son's birthday. He absolutely was shocked when he opened the box. He said Mom, these are REAL KOBE'S!! The smile on his face was priceless. Thank you for being so easy to do business with and offering such great products.
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, runs true to size, easy to clean, durable, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OUTSTANDING QUALITY & CRAFTSMANSHIP

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from FOB FENTY, J-BAD, AFN
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
User submitted photo
My son was ecstatic to receive these shoes as he has been re-instated into the SYSTEM. He had the previous editions and is enjoying the "feel" of the new style!
Pros: breaks in easy, good traction, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, runs true to size, easy to clean, durable, comfortable, good ankle support, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Comfortable. A must have!!!

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from san francisco
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
User submitted photo
KB 8 is very light and comfortable to use. A basketball shoe version of Nike Free....
Pros: good traction, lightweight, durable, comfortable
Cons: poor ankle support
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

best shoes for guards ever made!

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Chicago,IL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Traction-9
i play on an average condition court but will perform better on clean courts. also has a soft, 3mm outsole so outdoor play isn't recommended
Cusion-9
comfortable shoe but the thick insole will delfate after long periods of uses and also no lunarlon midsole like HD12 or 13s.
Fit-10
the collar was a but tight at first but it will mold overtime. good lacing system and good lockdown coming from the padded tongue. also dont wear kobe socks when you play ball, believe me.
material-10
i thought engineered mesh won't hold up that well, but it turned out stronger than what i thought it would be like some free runs.
ventilation-9
nothing too crazy. just coming from the surrounded mesh and the holes on the tongue
Overall- decent shoe for a fast-paced moving players such as guards. its nice to try it out but i play SF and PF so i'm not wearing these too much. Im still going to stick to the HD13s, they provide everything for my type of play and positions
Pros: breaks in easy, good traction, lightweight, doesn't crease, durable, comfortable, breathable
Cons: poor ankle support
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LIGHTWEIGHT, GREAT TRACTION, SOFT CUSHIONING

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I own two pairs of the Kobe 8s, and every pair of kobes since his days with Adidas. This is the most lightweight, and comfortable kobe shoe once broke in. Breaking in for me took about 2 wears (1.5 hrs each at the local rec hoopin). It has great traction. Perfect for guards who love speed, and attacking the rim, and also for wings who can slash, cut and run down the court. Being lowcut, of course you wouldn't get traditional ankle support as mids and highs, but since going low, I haven't had a severe ankle sprain in nearly 6 years (I was spraining my ankle almost every 3-4 months with mids such as kobe 3s and hyperdunks). Insole is a rubbery material you could find in other nike products like the nike roshe runs, which is different this year from previous kobes having lunarfoam. Can't find any cons as it being a low cut shoe it would be unfair to say ''poor ankle support'' for a shoe with this cut...
Pros: breaks in easy, good traction, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, runs true to size, durable, comfortable, breathable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice shoes!

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
It's a good thing these are good looking comfortable shoes. Suitable for the long, long walk such as the one they took to my home.
Much better looking than i expected.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Kobe System 8's!!

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
The shoes are very light and comfortable. Played my first game in the last night and the traction was great. I played in a gym that is notorious for having a slippery floor, and I had no problem.
I just hope they are more durable then the last pair of Kobe's I bought.
Pros: breaks in easy, good traction, lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe for balling or walking around.

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, NY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
This is my second pair of Kobe's and they are the best shoes I've ever worn.
Pros: breaks in easy, good traction, lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, breathable
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks better in person

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Las Vegas, NV
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
This is an amazing shoe and the picture above poorly shows the quality of the shoe. I would recommend this shoe to anyone. The not so cool part about this shoe is that the outsole must be cleaned frequently unless you play indoors.
Pros: breaks in easy, good traction, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, comfortable, breathable
Cons: gets dirty fast, runs small
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Kobe 8 can't be beat!

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Long Beach, CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I have purchased the "easter" colorway and the shoe is one of the greatest pairs of basketball shoes I've ever owned. Being a guard I have no signs of slippage when playing in an indoor terrain and the shoe is nothing but comfy! I have recommended this shoe to my friends and they absolutely love it! The shoe is even so good that I've purchased multiple pairs of it to rock outdoor as well and it is a great shoe to walk around in if you're going out to the mall. Definitely recommend to all ballers and or sneakerheads. This is a must for your collection and is very limited.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, cool colors, runs true to size, easy to clean, durable, comfortable, breathable
Cons: poor ankle support, gets dirty fast, hard to clean
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 Star Shoe

PostedApril 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
from STL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Kobe 8 was an amazing performance shoe
Cushioning: The Lunarlon is responsive and as very comfortable at the same time
Traction: Excellent traction, I never found myself slipping at any time. Its best traction a kobe has had when comparing it to the previous years Kobe shoes
Material: Engineered mesh added support and structure to the shoe
Fit: The fit isn't as snug as the kobe 7 so you don't have to go to a size up
Ventilation: These do the job.... No problems with it
Support: The heel clip helps keep your foot locked down.. (Because it is a low cut shoe I wear a Ankle brace just in case.)
Overall: Amazing shoe... This is my favorite out of the Lebron 10 and KD 5.. Its light but still very comfortable and great traction. Additionally it is a perfect shoe for guards.
Pros: lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, runs true to size, breathable, good traction, comfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best fitting shoe with best material ever owned

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New York
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Worth every penny in my books. the material on this shoe is of high quality. Every stitching and every part is in sync. The fit is accurate to the feel of the feet.
I use this shoe for work outs, running and basketball. In all aspects of usage, no disappointment.
Really light weight as well.
Overall, these beats the adizero 2.5 which was my previous shoe. An upgrade for sure.
Pros: breaks in easy, good traction, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, runs true to size, durable, comfortable, breathable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome quality

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I've been wearing Kobe's since the V's, and these are by far the best! I have 3 different colorways and I'm a fan of them all. The last two pair, I've had to show up to the mall as soon as its opened, because these sell out so fast online. As a guard, I'm very happy with the overall quality of the shoes, and traction/support. Makes me wonder how the Kobe 9's will beat these???
Pros: good traction, lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable, good ankle support, breathable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this shoe

PostedAugust 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Akron, Ohio
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
it's confortbale and one of my best buys!
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from La Puente,CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
It realy fits and its comfortable to walk and play with this shoe
Pros: good traction, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, runs true to size, easy to clean, comfortable, good ankle support, stays clean a long time, breathable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wicked Colour

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
from New Zealand
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Great colour, good length, width a little tight and very light
Pros: lightweight, cool colors
Cons: runs narrow
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike Kobe VIII System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great look great performance amazing shoes!

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Hooping court
I purchased this product for:myself
Copped them the day they came out. Sickest Kobe 8 colorways love the look and everything about it. Comfiest light weight shoe I have ever worn. Great traction, very lightweight, and just a great shoe.
Pros: breaks in easy, good traction, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, durable, easy to clean, comfortable, stays clean a long time, breathable
Cons: runs small
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>