Customer Reviews for Nike Kobe VIII - Boys' Grade School

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Footlocker.

Nike Kobe VIII - Boys' Grade School

The Nike Kobe 8 System basketball shoe is designed to fit like an extension of Kobe’s foot for a quick first step. Engineered mesh upper provides a dynamic, ultra lightweight fit that moves with the foot and offers 360º of breathability. Phylon™ midsole delivers lightweight comfort and stability. Full-length Lunarlon midsole insert adds lightweight cushioning that sits lower internally to offer better stability. One-millimeter rubber outsole combines a classic herringbone pattern with a snake scale-inspired traction pattern. Uses less rubber than traditional outsoles for lightweight durability and excellent multi-surface traction. The 3-D anatomical heel counter provides a sleek, locked down fit.
Average Customer Rating:
4.591 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
21 out of 22(95%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nike Kobe VIII - Boys' Grade School
Review 1 for Nike Kobe VIII - Boys' Grade School
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The Colors Are All Purple!

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
Dej0211
from Clermont
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
I had recently bought a pair, thinking they were blue laces and logo when its really purple. Dont put a picture of a pair of shoes with the wrong colors! *Warning* If your looking at the blue its really purple.
Pros: lightweight, doesn't crease, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Kobe VIII - Boys' Grade School
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Kobe 8 GS

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
TheGerbster7
from Granada Hills, CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
The Kobe 8 GS is very lightweight and has crazy traction on any court surface. Its mesh upper is mainly responsible for the weight reduction compared to other guard/point guard shoes while also providing decent ventilation throughout the entire shoe. I have both the GS and regular size versions (I wear size 7 on both) and they both fit true-to-size with plenty of room on the forefoot (I can actually go down half a size and it still would've fit perfectly, although I accounted for the fact that I'll be wearing socks so the fit would just be right lengthwise). For those who have wide feet, going half a size up might be advisable, although I suggest trying the shoe first to see how the fit is.
Not only is the Kobe 8 a great performer on the court as it also is a fashionable sneaker to rock casually, going well with shorts or pants. The tongue and the upper may be a little stiff at first, but after wearing it for a couple of times--both walking and running with it--the shoes started to break in and feel much comfortable; in essence, the fit and shoe experience gets better with every wear.
Some of the main differences I have seen between the GS and regular size Kobe 8 is the absence of the Lunarlon insert on the GS version (it has a phylon insert--correct me if I'm wrong please--instead); also, the traction pattern on the GS version has 3 flex grooves on it with a "non-marking" outsole pattern. Other than that, the rest are pretty identical, and both do provide that comfort and wearability that either one possess.
I highly recommend the Kobe 8 to everyone considering a guard/point guard shoe that caters or specializes in quick movements on the court, to everyone who likes to rock lightweight yet fashionable basketball sneakers, and to those who are Kobe fans :).
Pros: breaks in easy, good traction, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, runs true to size, durable, comfortable, breathable
Cons: gets dirty fast
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Kobe VIII - Boys' Grade School
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Slamdunk
from Pittsburgh, pa
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Great shoes. Stylish and comfortable.
Pros: breaks in easy, good traction, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, runs true to size, durable, easy to clean, comfortable, good ankle support, stays clean a long time, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Kobe VIII - Boys' Grade School
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome look

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
icetoadsmom
from frederick md
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Amazing hip sneakers. They are colorful and look sleek with khakis my son has score d alot if points with these newcsneakers.
Pros: breaks in easy, good traction, lightweight, cool colors, easy to clean, durable, comfortable, good ankle support, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Kobe VIII - Boys' Grade School
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Abbott21
from Pittsburgh, pa
I love this shoe. I get so many compliments on them!
Pros: lightweight, durable, comfortable
Cons: runs large
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Kobe VIII - Boys' Grade School
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great purchase"

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
sneakerfanaticcc
from roanoke, va
Love these! They're very flexible. Run a little big
Pros: breaks in easy, good traction, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, comfortable, stays clean a long time, breathable
Cons: runs large
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Kobe VIII - Boys' Grade School
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This shoe is amazing!!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
TdSweeTea
from Charlotte, NC
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:fashion
This shoe has great physique! I love the way the colors eloquently compliment one another! Its style and grace is just off the charts!
Pros: breaks in easy, good traction, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, runs true to size, easy to clean, durable, comfortable, good ankle support, stays clean a long time, breathable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Kobe VIII - Boys' Grade School
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Design

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
holythug8
from Kansas city,Missouri
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
My daughter is enjoying them to the fullest she wears them almost every where she goes.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, durable, comfortable, stays clean a long time
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Kobe VIII - Boys' Grade School
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shoe for a guard

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
BabyJ
from Canada
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
The traction is great, shoe is comfortable, very lightweight, breathable, ready to play in straight out of the box, and unbelievable lockdown for a shoe made from engineered mesh. It also fits true to size.
Pros: breaks in easy, good traction, lightweight, doesn't crease, runs true to size, comfortable, breathable
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Kobe VIII - Boys' Grade School
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Eye catching

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Limegreen
from Texas
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
This shoe is a real eye catcher. The lime green is an attention seeker. The only comment is that it runs slightly wide on a lanky 12 year old.
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Kobe VIII - Boys' Grade School
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable, lightweight, great looking shoe!

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
BallerMom7
from SF North Bay
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
We purchased these Kobe VIII shoes for our 10 year old son and they are great! He is a basketball fanatic and plays at least 5 days/week. Finally found a shoe that doesn't cause foot pain after games. I wear the same size, so I walked around the house with these shoes and they feel light as a feather with great support. He plays point guard a lot and these shoes allow him that fast, quick first step and ease in pivoting. The green/blue combo is very attractive for kids and teens...been receiving lots of compliments from teammates and strangers. These shoes are more suitable for indoor use as the tread may wear easily on an outdoor court.
Pros: breaks in easy, good traction, lightweight, cool colors, comfortable, breathable
Cons: runs large
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike Kobe VIII - Boys' Grade School
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great color...great feel

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
AJT42
from Rocky Mount, NC
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I purchased these shoes because I loved the colors. Nike rarely makes great colorways in smaller sizes, so when I saw these I had to have them. It is my first pair of Kobes and I am pleased with the feel and cut of the shoe.
Pros: lightweight, cool colors, comfortable
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Kobe VIII - Boys' Grade School
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wood01
from Springfield,ma
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:fashion
My daughter loves the sneakers!
Pros: lightweight, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Kobe VIII - Boys' Grade School
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love itt

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
iamyourmollyx
from Miami
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
these colors are vibrant and beautiful.
Pros: lightweight, cool colors, comfortable
Cons: runs narrow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Kobe VIII - Boys' Grade School
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
zakooties
from philly
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Kobe 8s definitely fit more true to size than the Kobe 7's did in GS. With Kobe 7s I had to go with a half size smaller because of how big they ran but now I can comfortably stick with my accurate shoe size. I absolutely LOVE the christmas colors. I think they're amazing...I just recently wore them for the first time and got many compliments.
Pros: lightweight, doesn't crease, comfortable
Cons: not as comfy as kobe 7
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Nike Kobe VIII - Boys' Grade School
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
7 out of 7 recommend this product