Customer Reviews for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Footlocker.

Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's

The Nike Kobe 8 System basketball shoe is designed to fit like an extension of Kobe’s foot for a quick first step. Engineered mesh upper provides a dynamic, ultra lightweight fit that moves with the foot and offers 360º of breathability. Phylon™ midsole delivers lightweight comfort and stability. Full-length Lunarlon midsole insert adds lightweight cushioning that sits lower internally to offer better stability. One-millimeter rubber outsole combines a classic herringbone pattern with a snake scale-inspired traction pattern. Uses less rubber than traditional outsoles for lightweight durability and excellent multi-surface traction. The 3-D anatomical heel counter provides a sleek, locked down fit. Wt. 9.6 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.789 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(180 Reviews) 180
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 180 reviews
5 stars
158
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
4
174 out of 180(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Review 1 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another great sneaker.

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Tempe, AZ
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I was really excited to get this sneaker. This particular Kobe 8 sneaker is known as the Christmas Edition. This is the sneaker Kobe wore specifically for his Christmas Day game. The designers have said that the sneakers color pattern is supposed to remind you of Christmas lights. This sneaker was highly sought after, and I was very lucky to get a pair. Thanks Footlocker!
Pros: lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, breathable, easy to clean, comfortable, stays clean a long time
Cons: poor ankle support
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Pembroke
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
User submitted photo
Best kobe shoe yet!!! GREAT shoes to play basketball in. They're lightweight and makes me feel like i can fly on the court. I would recommend this shoe to anybody that's looking for a new basketball shoe to play in.
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, durable, good ankle support, breathable, good traction, easy to clean, comfortable, stays clean a long time
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best one so far!

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ft Lauderdale, FL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
User submitted photo
Played ball in the KD IV's and Kobe 7's. Kobe 8's put both of them to shame! I felt like I was wearing nothing but socks on! Going to buy another pair in a regular colorway... Don't want to destroy my Xmas pairs!!!
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, good traction, comfortable, stays clean a long time
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Feels great, looks good. Overall good shoe

PostedApril 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Newport News, VA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
User submitted photo
Kobe 8 System is one the best sneakers of all time
Pros: lightweight, cool colors, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pretty Good

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from AK
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
This shoe would of gotten a five from me but the insole and the sole itself are in my opinion very iffy. This shoe would be a ten if they put the sole and cushioning from the six on it. The lunarlon insole does not impress me that much I just dont feel the so called srpingy or cushioning others are so pleased with. If you take it out and squish it with your fingers it just stays compressed so imagine standing on it its just gonna stay crushed down. With that said how long will it actualy last before it wears out? You cant just buy any insole for them so you will have to get replacements from nike for a hefty price i'm sure. Now onto the sole it is almost as thin and flimsy as the insole itself dont believe me go to the store and push your index finger into the bottom of it. Feel like it will wear out fast also. They definitely are not as super comfy as what people are saying on here. The chris paul six has a way more sturdy feel than this shoe and a more comfortable feel. But i do like that they are not narrow anymore feel true to fit and i like the material. I think the insole and sole could of been way better should of stayed with the traditional air units in the sole.
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, runs true to size, breathable, good traction
Cons: poor ankle support, non-durable, hard to clean
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best BBall Shoes I've ever had

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Detroit, MI
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I recently made the decision to get back in basketball shape as I'm joining a league in a month. I'm 30 years old and haven't bought a new bball shoe for years. These are definitely worth the money. The grip is great, they're comfortable, and best of all EXTREMELY LIGHT (9.6 ounces...average shoe is about 13-15 ounces I believe)! Played 4 times since I've had them and they seem to get better each time. Oh, plus everyone (including my little cousin and all of his friends 17/18 year old friends) said they look sweet. Best looking shoe at the court. They go good with the black NIKE ELITE bball socks
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, cool colors, breathable, good traction, comfortable
 
My product recommendations
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightweight!

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Georgia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great shoe to play basketball in and great casual shoe. Huge upgrade from the kobe 7. The kobe 7 was horrible, it is 10X better, lighter, and more useful.
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, durable, breathable, good traction, easy to clean, comfortable, stays clean a long time
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

out of this world

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this shoes have out did its self, one word Raw
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, durable, good ankle support, breathable, good traction, easy to clean, comfortable, stays clean a long time
+1point
12of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lightest basketball shoe I've ever worn

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
from miami FL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
ive watched so many reviews about this shoe and how comfortable it is, but it isnt the most comfortable shoe. not as much cushion or support as everyone makes it seem to be. the heel lockdown is excellent and i had absolutely NO slipping while playing. the padded cushion in the heel really keeps your heel in place. traction is excellent as well, even on a partially dusty floor. as expected with almost all low tops, the ankle support is not the best bet it gets the job done. this is an A shoe overall but not as comfortable or supportive as i expected.
Pros: lightweight, breathable, good traction
Cons: poor ankle support, uncomfortable, not enough colors
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoe

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
I wear the same size in these as the 7s and they fit great compared to the 7s, nowhere near as narrow, still recommend half a size up. Its very comfortable as a casual shoe and to ball in. Good support, traction, breathable, ridiculously light. Been a few days and havent seen any creases yet and waiting to see how durable they are in the long run. I recommend to those looking for an upgrade from the older kobes, the 7's very just uncomfortable
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, breathable, good traction, comfortable
Cons: not enough colors
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

kobe is a beast with this

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from illinoius,chicago
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is kobe newest shoe i like the yellowish finish i dont know why people give it a 4 in ratings but one day i went to try out for a league i shoot like i used to but better anyways ill higjly reccomend this shoes or the kd v or cp3 but this is one of my favorites
Pros: cool colors, durable, breathable, good traction, comfortable, cool shoes
 
My product recommendations
 
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best of the best!!!!

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from San diego, CA
I purchased this product for:other family/friend
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
I give this shoe 10 stars!!! Awesome!! Anything kobe is great!!!
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, cool colors, good ankle support, breathable, comfortable
Cons: runs narrow
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Nashville
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Light weight and fast! If you are a baller you will love this shoe.
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, durable, good ankle support, breathable, good traction, easy to clean, comfortable, stays clean a long time
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
from san antonio,tx
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nice shoe but not for people like me with wide feet
Pros: cool colors, easy to clean, stays clean a long time
Cons: to narrow
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best basketball shoes.

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Des Moines, Iowa
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
These have to be one of the best basketball shoes i've ever played in; very comfortable, excellent traction, and good support and stability while being the lightest basketball shoe available. It felt broken in right out of the box and my feet felt locked down in the shoe. I liked the Lunarlon insole as I found it to be comfortable and responsive. The shoes felt like an extension of my feet on the court. My only issue with this shoe, albeit a minor one, is that I had some discomfort in my right shoe where my big toe is. Other than that it was perfect!
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, runs true to size, durable, good ankle support, breathable, good traction, comfortable, stays clean a long time
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best Kobe signature shoe yet!

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Placentia, CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I have played basketball in many, many other shoes including the Hyperdunks from 2008-2012, Hyperfuse, Lebrons, KDs, and Kobes, but this Kobe signature shoe is the best one yet. Not only does the design look amazing and attract many compliments on court, but the cushion is light and supportive and the upper is super supportive and molds to your feet whether you slash to the hoop, step back for a jumper, or curl around screens. The traction is amazing, partially because of the herringbone pattern, but also because of the extra pliable rubber that is used for the outsole that lets you stop on a dime. Even on dusty college courts, a couple wipes of the sole will give you awesome traction throughout the game.
Pros: lightweight, cool colors, runs true to size, durable, good ankle support, good traction, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First pair of Kobe's

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Upstate NY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Love them. Especially now that i got the socks and shirt to match. I wont stop there. Ill soon have the "Christmas" ones. Kobe makes a fine shoe. Lightweight and flexible. I wear them for casual use or for goin out. I save my Lebrons or Pennys for the court.
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, cool colors, easy to clean, comfortable, stays clean a long time
Cons: poor ankle support, runs narrow, runs small
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Tennessee
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
My son is very proud of this product very good on his mobility to play ball eould recomend to everyone
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, doesn't crease, cool colors, runs true to size, durable, good ankle support, breathable, good traction, easy to clean, comfortable, stays clean a long time
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Glendale,az
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Nice comfortable light great for a point gaurd or a shooting gaurd
Pros: breaks in easy, lightweight, durable, good ankle support, breathable, good traction, easy to clean, comfortable
Cons: runs narrow
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike Kobe 8 System - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

light weight

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia PA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
light, well vented, cool look. only if it had a air max bubble.
Pros: lightweight, doesn't crease, runs true to size, breathable, comfortable
Cons: not enough colors
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>