Customer Reviews for ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's

ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's

The ASICS® GEL-Kinsei™ 4 is a moderate, neutral running shoe designed for daily training and high mileage. Heel Clutching System uses an exoskeletal structure that wraps the heel for a secure fit. Cuprothermo metallic film retains heat in cold weather to keep feet warm and dissipates heat in warm weather to keep feet cool. Biomorphic Fit® provides superior fit and function. Open mesh helps keep feet cool. PHF™ (Personalized Heel Fit) memory foam lined heel collar molds to the heel for a snug, comfortable fit. Asymmetrical Lacing Design better follows the shape of the foot for an improved fit. Solyte™ midsole with GEL® Cushioning System enhances shock attenuation and allows for improved toe off position. Guidance Line is a vertical flex groove in the forefoot for improved gait efficiency. Propulsion Trusstic System® utilizes a thermal plastic unit that connects the lateral heel to the medial forefoot. This unit works to release stored energy and propel you forward during toe-off. Impact Guidance System (IGS®) design creates a smooth and balanced heel-to-toe transition. ASICS® High Abrasion Rubber (AHAR®) in the heel is made of carbon rubber for exceptional durability. DuraSponge in the forefoot is made from a blown AHAR compound, for responsive cushioning and flexibility. DuoSole® outsole provides lightweight, flexible, and durable traction. Removable insole. Wt. 11.9 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.797 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
5 stars
52
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
57 out of 59(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's
Review 1 for ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

TECHNOLOGICAL MARVEL/A.P.M.A. "SEAL-of-ACCEPTANCE"

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
from West Lake Village, California 91361
Currently, I RUN/WALK circa Twenty-One (21) Miles per Week, Rotating within my Japanese ASICS collection. I purchased my First (1st ) Pair of ASICS "GEL-KINSEI 4's" during January of 2014 in the Colors: Silver Mesh Upper/Flash Orange Shoe Laces/Royal Blue Crossings/Green-to-Blue Sidings/Dark Green Forefoot Trim/White 'SOLYTE' Midsole Trim/ Royal Blue Silicone Gel-Cells. With my High-Arches, I always prefer the "NEUTRAL" or "NEUTRAL PLUS" Running Shoes for FOOT MECHANICS. The "GEL-KINSEI 4" is "MADE-In-CHINA" and the Fabrics & Materals appear 'Well-Made'. The Colors are "Deep', 'Rich', and "Vibrant'. With a Weight of 11.9 ounces each, the "GEL-KINSEI 4's" are the same Weight per shoe as my "GEL-CIRRUS 33's"! The Arch-Support for my High Arches is 'Superior' and the 'PEBAX HEEL UNIT' is a TECHNOLOGICAL MARVEL along with the existing 'HEEL-CLUTCHING SYSTEM'. As always, with the Japanese ASICS Brand:"YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR" !!!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love this shoe! Few flaws

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Shelburn Indiana
My favorite shoe I've ever worn, best color ever, I love that they don't match! It brings so many colors together so you can wear anything with it. They are really bright, but since they are so bright as soon as someone steps on them or they get a little dirty they don't look the same. :( the only color I don't like on it is the red, it would have been amazing if it was a purple. But they are comfortable, good support, when I received mine, I noticed that there was a small chunk missing out if the gel, but if was probably just a manufacturer fault. I just need to find socks that go with them!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

barefoot walking on the clouds

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from vernon hills, IL
Shoes has exceeded my expectations...super comfortable...worth every penny.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Shoes do not match picture and are sized wrong

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Independence, MO
The pictures on the Foot Locker web site do not match the shoes I received. The pictures make it appear that the left and right are different color patterns, but I received ones that have matching color patterns. I would have been willing to overlook this, but they are also sized much smaller in length than they should be. I have purchased several ASICS shoes for running as they are reliable and I love the way they feel, but these are totally wrong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shoes ever

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Yellowknife
I was running 50 k a week and I injured myself, plantar fascists. I was doing too many hills, genetics, and poor shoes when I was at work (lots of Vans and Converse all stars), was the diagnosis. The Dr. recommended asics because of my foot shape.
They really helped me recover, and now I own 3 pairs, because they feel so good when I am in them. Spent the last 6 months at low impact, but slowly starting to jog and run again, and these shoes are making it very successful.
I even love how ugly they are.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great shoe but quality concerns???

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Grimsby, ON Canada
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is my 3rd pair of Kinsei 4's. The first pair, the back gel on the heel came loose after the 3rd wear, the second pair, the sole became unglued after the 4th week of wearing. I work in a big box retailer, and this is the first shoe that has withstood the concrete floor pounding. I am a bigger guy, 6 foot 230 lbs who walks flat footed, and this shoe is an absolute pillow under my feet. I also wear these shoes when playing Ball Hockey on a Mylec Court. Hopefully this pair will withstand the pounding I dole out. Time will tell, it's just after my first week of wearing them, and no issues to date.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: non-durable, previous quality issues
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Comfortable shoe

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Indianapolis
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I read reviews on this shoe before I ordered it. The reviews stated that they had to order a half size bigger than what they originally wear because of the make of the shoe. I went ahead and ordered the bigger of the 2 sized that I am in between just to find that the shoe is still a half size to big.
The shoe is very comfortable and very light. I enjoy wearing this shoe during my workouts or on walks.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

IM WALKING ON CLOUDS

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
One of the side effect from chemo are my feet being in so much pain. Its important to find the right pair of shoes. Im looking forward to working out and now Im wearing a comfortable pair shoes. I feel like Im walking on clouds THANKS
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Indianapolis, In
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
As a former athlete needing to get back into shape for health reasons, I purchased 2 pair of high end shoes, these, and some more expensive nikes.. Both are excellent shoes, but this shoe is much lighter and more comfortable in the sole. The gel tends to create more of a custom fit than air.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome! Comfortable!

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from North Dakota
I love these shoes. They feel great!!! Will definitely be buying another pair come winter for running on the treadmill!!!!
I also use Dr. Scholls Active Series inserts. I have a High arch and they give me the extra support I need so my arches don't hurt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shoes I've ever owned

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Rochester, MN
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Being new in the running world I've tried on many shoes and i have to say, non compare to this. Even though the price is a little high they're well worth it. These shoe have great arch support and cushioning along with being amazingly comfortable and durable. I'm on my feet a lot and had to order a second pair for work and everyday wear. Thanks ASICS for a great shoe!
Pros: good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: little spendy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's all good!

PostedMay 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Mt Pleasant, Michigan
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
This shoe is noticeably superior to the Asics Gel-Nimbus 14-Bgt/Bk/Bl. And the Asics Gel-Nimbus 14-Bgt/Bk/Bl is the second best sport shoe I have ever worn. I still have not gotten use to strangers complimenting me on my shoes. Then they tell me about how they love their ASICS.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Oak Bluffs
Stunning.They look amazing and they fit like a glove.Perfect purchase
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very comfortable and awesome colour!

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
from New Zealand
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
As always Asics sizing is extremely consistent in sizing and fits well, I bought these shoes because I like colour and these did not disappoint, they look awesome!
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedMay 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Charlotte, NC
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Overall good product, but Asics needs to begin to sew in at least one side of the tongue of their shoes to prevent it from sliding to one side !!
They have done this only in the Noosa Tri 7 shoe....
Footlocker.com is a good service, but your return procedure is very slow and out of date !!
Cons: tongue tab sewed in improperly !!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Comfortable, lots of support

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Vancouver, Wa
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I do not do a lot of long distance running, I mainly use the shoes for going to the club an hr a day on the treadmill and other cardo equipement.. The shoes are great and I moved from Nike as I felt that their quality has gone downhill, in recent years.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Pa
I purchased this product for:other family/friend
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Birthday present for my boyfriend he loves to run on the treadmill in them said his knees and feet feel great with them on
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing !!!

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from ny , ny
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Im normally a nike air max kinda guy ... but they wear out after two weeks or so... i train with a weighted vest and run 5-6 miles a day ... best shoes for the all around !!! Worth Every Penny !!
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shoes I have ever purchased!

PostedJune 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Very comfortable shoe. Like running on pillows with support!
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ASICS® Gel - Kinsei 4 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Gloversville, NY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Bought them for running and they are great!
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: runs large
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>