Customer Reviews for New Balance 990 - Women's

New Balance 990 - Women's

A popular staple of the New Balance running-inspired women’s shoes changes only its name, from the 993 to the 990. Everything wearers have come to love about the shoe remains. Main Features Weight: 10.5 ounces (Women’s size 7) Women’s version is built on a narrower, B-width last. Reflective detailing enhances visibility. New Balance 990’s Medicare/HCPCS code is A5500 Diabetic shoe. The blown-rubber forefoot adds lightweight cushioning. Additional Information Since its debut in the heart of the 2008 holiday season, the New Balance 993 has delivered consistent cushioning and stability in a running-shoe format, none of which changed when it became the 990 in April 2012. The New Balance 990 is built for the mild-to-moderate overpronator, or those whose feet tend to roll inward after heelstrike. The 990 provides stability for these feet, allowing for a smooth transition through each stride. At the heart of this support is the midsole. It consists of C-Cap® molded ethylene vinyl acetate (EVA) foam with a single-density polyurethane post to support the instep. ABZORB DTS® combines ABSORB® and ABSORB SBS® foams to provide optimal cushioning. ENCAP® is a core of soft cushioning EVA with a tough polyurethane rim for added support and durability. The upper consists of supportive pigskin, synthetic and mesh in a running-inspired design. A dual-density collar uses a softer-density foam against the ankle for cushioning, and a firmer-density foam for support.
Average Customer Rating:
4.591 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 out of 22(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for New Balance 990 - Women's
Review 1 for New Balance 990 - Women's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

THESE RUN MASSIVELY LARGE

PostedNovember 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Arlington, VA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I returned these for a number of reasons, the first of which was the size. I'm a size 8 in 99 percent of shoes—occasionally a 7.5 if a brand is known for running large. I'm not sure if New Balance is known to run particularly large, but these things were so big that I'm almost certain a 7 would've fit comfortably. Even with a gel insole and a thick pair of running socks, my feet were still sliding a bit. Another issue is the pink. I realize it clearly says on the website they're pink, but I thought it looked a little reddish—it is NOT reddish...it's straight up hot pink...like Paris Hilton pink. I guess it's technically "breast cancer" pink, but for me that doesn't make it any better. Basically, I just REALLY needed new sneakers for this weekend and I couldn't be more disappointed that these things come in clown sizes.
That being said, I gave the shoes four stars because they are very well made. They're structured, supportive, and they're actually pretty nice looking for New Balance shoes...if you don't mind pink. They're also surprisingly lightweight. I was expecting a much heavier feel to them and was very pleasantly surprised. They're nice enough that I might have considered keeping them, despite the aggressive pink, if they had fit.
Pros: comfortable, durable, lightweight, breathable, stays clean a long time, stylish
Cons: not enough colors, runs large
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for New Balance 990 - Women's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Mesa, AZ
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
I have bad knees that I do get shots in. All my sandels made them worse. I asked my physical therapst what she would recomment.. She advise New Balance would be the best and get in the hight numbers. The are very comfortable.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for New Balance 990 - Women's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is so comfortable

PostedJune 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Baltimore, MD
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I love it I'm so glad it was an affordable price and my feet are in love
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for New Balance 990 - Women's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

they feel very light. they do not weigh you down.

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from md.
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
every thing was great about my order. and i know i will be ordering again.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for New Balance 990 - Women's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Annapolis, MD
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Very comfortable! Good Quality!
Pros: runs true to size, durable, comfortable, good cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for New Balance 990 - Women's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is made very well

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from plantersville.ms
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
all day comfort, great fit,
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for New Balance 990 - Women's
Based on the average of (16) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
16 out of 16 recommend this product