Customer Reviews for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Footlocker.

Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's

The Nike Free Trainer 5.0 training shoe features a no-sew upper construction with adaptive fit technology that provides dynamic lockdown. Dual-density midsole and Nike Free flex grooves offer a barefoot training experience. Midfoot wrap-up delivers additional lateral support. Delta nodes traction pattern gives ultimate grip on multiple surfaces. DiamondFlex design aids multI directional movement. Removable insole. Wt. 10.6 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.114 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(114 Reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 114 reviews
5 stars
63
4 stars
29
3 stars
2
2 stars
12
1 star
8
93 out of 114(82%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Review 1 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoes for training

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
txshopper
from austin
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
The shoes fit great - they are true to size and they feel great for working out.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love the colors

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
NikeLuvr
from Lancaster, TX
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
The color combination of this particular shoe makes it versatile.
Pros: lightweight, durable, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nike Free Trainer 5.0

PostedApril 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
MrMike23
from Las Vegas
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
These are very comfortable. I use them for workouts, golfing and walking around town. They feel light as air and also have good support. I am a 6' 190 lb. guy and they work for me for those uses. For longer runs I use Air Max shoes to help with the pounding on my knees.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Awesome Looking but Very Uncomfortable

PostedApril 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shoes4You
from Canton, OH
I really like the design of this shoe. Its one of the bast looking shoes I've every seen but it is very, very uncomfortable. There is this plastic band by the toes that rubs against your skin and it become very annoying.
Pros: good traction, durable
Cons: uncomfortable, plastic feel
 
My product recommendations
Nike Free Run + 3 - Men's
4.6 out of 5(176)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not a comfortable shoe

PostedApril 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
abcde
from Simi Valley, CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
painful shoe in the arch area. Arch support is too high.
Cons: poor arch support, uncomfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedApril 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
chevygirl
from montana
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
My son really likes these shoes and will buy another pair definitely.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, high performance, runs true to size, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoes

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
joe24
from Oregon
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Shoes are true to size, comfortable, light-weight, durable
Pros: good traction, lightweight, high performance, runs true to size, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
noyxz
from Houston, Tx
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Like the color combination of grey and green. Size is perfect and it fit.The only thing that I don't like is, it gets uncomfortable when doing intense cardio work out. I always stopped in the middle of the excercise when feet really hurts. The material should be more flexible.
Pros: good traction, high performance, lightweight, runs true to size, good arch support, durable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: uncomfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Runners perspective

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Highjump1
from New York
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Comfortable for jogging as well as sprinting, however they do no allow for much ventilation. My feet might get hot and sweaty, but overall a good product. Fits narrow feet well.
Pros: good traction, runs true to size, comfortable
Cons: runs narrow, not breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoes

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
poppy
from Australia
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Shoes are super comfy love them. We got our product within four days from overseas what fantastic service, very happy with everything. will definatley be using footlocker in future. Thanks
Pros: good traction, lightweight, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks Great, light and fast

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Aussie198
from Saint Louis
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent looking shoe, snug fit and fantastic performance for grip, speed and strength training.
LOVE IT!
Pros: good traction, high performance, lightweight, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
KRisti
from Hayesville, NC
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
These were a gift for my son. He is a workout fanatic and loves these shoes. They are very light and flexible. Great running shoes.
Pros: high performance, lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable, stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cool but uncomfortable

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jackkdjfdjdn
from Nj
Poorly made. Seem on top digs into pinky toe. Unwearable
Cons: uncomfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GreatTrainingShoe NotARunningShoe

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
perfectshot
from southern california
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
User submitted photo
This Training shoe is awesome. Some people don't understand that a training shoe is made to build your foot muscles. So if you wear them all day long they will get uncomfortable. Great lateral movement and awesome traction. I wear my shoe while I am on the BBall court, running up hills, on the track, and on asphalt. I would recommend this shoe to someone who is serious about training. And i dont mean just lifting weights. And its not for someone who just wants to lounge around in.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, high performance, durable, breathable, great traction
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Iteruel
from Utuado, Puerto Rico
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Very good, exellent shoes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst shoe I have ever worn.

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
AdventureRunner
from St. Louis, MO
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I was absolutely surprised to find out how uncomfortable this shoe was. I have owned three other pairs of Nike Frees in the past and have loved them. This was the worst pair of shoes I have ever worn in my life. The shoe is very narrow through the shoe and the toe box is also very narrow. I have a slightly narrow foot, so to find that this shoe was this uncomfortable was a shock to me. The size seemed to be almost a full size small to me. The only good thing I can say about this shoe is that it is light weight.
Cons: uncomfortable, very narrow toe box, runs small to size
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mcfly
from Vancouver, canada
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Overall good training shoe lots of lateral support as well, arch support is lacking though.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great shoe for training!!

PostedAugust 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
esquire13
from St Louis, MO
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Shoe runs about a half size smaller. Great color...really gets alot of attention in the gym. Love the shoe!!
Pros: good traction, high performance, lightweight, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedAugust 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Msitz19
from McCook, NE
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
My son needs more of a support shoe and this is perfect for him.
Pros: lightweight, high performance, good arch support, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike Free Trainer 5.0 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great cushioning, lightweight and stylish to boot!

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
NaturalBornBoy
from Singapore
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I ordered 2 pairs of these shoes and first thing's first, they arrived in SUPER FAST TIME! I'm in Singapore for what it's worth. My order left the US on the 13th and arrived here on the 17th. Doesn't get any faster than that in my experience.
The shoe is comfortable. I'm a heavy guy so proper cushioning is a must and I don't have any problems with the 5.0 trainer.
For those, like me, who cannot buy this shoe locally, please bear in mind that although the Foot Locker sizing guide states that this shoe is true to size and true to width, in reality, it is not. The shoe runs slightly narrow. I normally wear a size 13 for my Air Force One's and older Nike's but for the Free Trainer 5.0, I had to buy a size 14. The fit was spot on. Just something to take note of if you're thinking of buying these shoes sight unseen.
Other than that, I have nothing negative to say about these shoes or Foot Locker. Very pleasant experience overall.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>