Customer Reviews for ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Footlocker.

ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's

This stability running shoe dropped more than an ounce from its predecessor but retained enough ride and comfort to earn “Best Update” from Runner’s World in its January 2012 issue. Main Features Weight: 11.5 ounces (men’s size 9) The Impact Guidance System (I.G.S.®) links components to enhance the foot’s natural gait. Guidance Line vertical flex groove lets tooling on outsole work independently. A ComforDry™ Sockliner lends cushioning and anti-odor properties. Additional Information Introduced in January 2012, the ASICS® GEL-Kayano® 18 lost weight but gained features to enhance what consumers have come to appreciate about the GEL-Kayano line. An external Heel Clutching System consists of an external heel counter that improves support and heel fit by locking it into place. The shoe’s Biomorphic Fit® upper consists of stretch materials strategically placed to help reduce buckling and potential irritation. Serving a similar function is the Personal Heel Fit™ (PHF) system of two-layer memory foam that lines the heel collar and helps personalize its fit. The medial (inner) side of the midsole includes ASICS’ DuoMax® Support System, dual-density foam cushioning that is designed to reduce excess pronation (when the foot rolls significantly inward after heelstrike). On the outsole is ASICS’ Space Trusstic System®, which is a plastic plate in the midfoot that mimics the connective tissue of the foot by generating energy as the foot moves through the stride.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
5 stars
59
4 stars
16
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
75 out of 76(99%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's
Review 1 for ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe, recommend for the over pronator

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Long Island
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I first purchased the Nike Free runs, brought them home and ran in them and off the bat I could feel pain in my knees, ankles and feet so I googled it and found out that I am an over pronator when I run. I was bummed but soon found out they have shoes for that such as the Asics Gel Kayano. So I scooped up a pair and have been grateful ever since. Run 3 miles a day, comfortable, stable, lots of support and cool design. I would recommend this to anyone. I had trouble finding a shoe at first, I did my research and although expensive, it its definitely worth the money and will last for a very long time.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe.

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Pittsburgh, PA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
I am long time user of the ASICS Gel series (2140,2150,2160). This is the first Kayanos, but they are also gels. I have foot problems and usually had to buy insoles either as I bought the new shoe or right after. With the ASICS I do not have to do that.
I actually wear them for everyday use and for walking and use them for about a year without needing a third party insole.
The other thing about the brand is from shoe to shoe the sizing is uniform so I felt safe ordering on line.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is an excellent shoe.

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ashland, Kentucky
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This shoe continues to be an excellent product. I like that improvements don't change the inherent integrity of the shoe. You don't get a surprise when you take your first run in a new pair of Gel Kayanos.
Sizing is an issue. Your store says the sizing is true. I have run in Asics for more than 20 years. Their shoes are 1 to 1 1/2 sizes small. I wear a 10 1/2 and ordered a 12. They fit great. Someone new to Asics will be returning that first pair of shoes.
Pros: lightweight, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: poor arch support
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!!

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
from California
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I purchased the shoes for my yearly high school cross country team. I had heard these shoes were great for the longer distance running. They were CORRECT!!! The shoes are perfect when i go on my 6-8 mile runs. Any other Nike shoe would've worn out in a month. I recommend buying. Note they are for competition long distance running and aren't the best for speed or track.
Pros: runs true to size, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoe!

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Fort Leonard Wood, MO
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Speedy delivery and comfortable running shoe with a unique design. This is my second pair of Asics Gel Kayanos in the last two years. I definitely will purchase this shoe again next year when needed. Great running shoe for being in the Army.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Shoe

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Vancouver, BC
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
For a bigger guy these shoes are fantastic, great cushion and support. I am 6'1 and 260lbs, and these shoes are fantastic in the gym as well as everyday use.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great looks and comfortable

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
from hesperia,ca
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Great shoe for walking at the mall in the winter. I had a knee replacement and can only walk and play golf. :ove the loks and the feel of the shoe on my foot.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

fits and feels great would buy them again

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from canada
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I like ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18. I am 6 feet 200lbs. I ran and tried other runners but asics runners seem to work for me. Happy and will purchase them again.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Shoe

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Santa Barbara,CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice running shoe although I'm still not convinced that it's as good as Nike's Lunar series. I'll let them break in a little more .
Pros: comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lightweight and comfortable

PostedDecember 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Northern Southern Cal
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Shoes run slightly small, similar to Nike but overall really comfortable. Gel system provides excellent cushioning, while remaining very light.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Great shoe. I have wide feet for a woman, so I bought these--perfect fit.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfortable and not so expensive!

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Miami,FL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Great for running; they don't get dirty easily and are comfortable.
Pros: durable, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Dalton, Ga.
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
ASICS makes a great product. Kayano 18 / Good support & cushioning.
Pros: good arch support, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is great

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from GARLAND
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
The ASICS Gel Kayano 18 is everything I expected it to be. I would buy another one. In fact I am training for marathons. I will probably need another one soon.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not enough heel support/cushion.

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Ossining, NY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
nothing special, except the colors of course. poor cushioning. will not win a 2nd term when it's used up.
Pros: lightweight, breathable
Cons: uncomfortable, poor cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
from centreville,va
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
very comfortable and has great support
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Puerto Rico
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
very small 
7 / 5
7 / 5
This product is supper comfortable. For me, the Asics are thebest sporting shoes.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great running shoe

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Awesome! I enjoy to run with this.
Pros: lightweight, runs true to size, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from United States
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Awesome its the most patriotic pair of shoes this soldiers ever had ;)
Pros: lightweight, durable, good cushioning, breathable, good arch support, comfortable, american
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ASICS® Gel - Kayano 18 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!!

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Mexico
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The shoe fits very well, very light for running.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>