Customer Reviews for adidas Powerlift Trainer - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Footlocker.

adidas Powerlift Trainer - Men's

Inspired by weightlifting shoes with a more comfortable feel and dumbbell logos on the midfoot strap, the adidas PowerLlift Trainer training shoe gives you that big man swagger. Low-cut synthetic leather and mesh upper offers light weight and comfort. Hook-and-loop strap over the laces provides lockdown fit and additional heel support. Firm EVA wedge midsole gives added support. Molded EVA sockliner adds lightweight cushioning. Weight distribution plate offers a stable platform when lifting weights. Patterned rubber outsole delivers grip and durability. Wt. 14.6 oz.
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(80 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 80 reviews
5 stars
60
4 stars
18
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
78 out of 80(98%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for adidas Powerlift Trainer - Men's
Review 1 for adidas Powerlift Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all around lifting shoe...

PostedJune 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Boise, ID
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
This is the perfect graduation show if you have been lifting in runners. A very solid platform makes a huge difference for any lift where a solid footing is important. I've read many reviews that have complained about these being very narrow. I was hesitant to purchase because my feet are on the wider side (E width). Much to my delight the width is not an issue at all. And the Foot Locker measurements according to size were right on the money. I ordered a half size larger because I was nervous about the width and guess what...the shoes are about a half size larger than what I really need. But a half size is not a concern. Also, if you plan to do some crossfit exercises like box jumps and double-unders, these will work great. Probably don't want to do any long runs in them but I'd probably wear them for 400m or under circuits. I've also read reviews that say the would not recommend these for true olympic lifts. I would agree that these are not a pure Oly shoe, but they work fantastic for a Crossfit Oly lifter.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, high performance, durable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for adidas Powerlift Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good oly lifting shoes

PostedMay 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento, CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I've been lifting on and off for a few years (Currently I'm oly lifting 3x a week), and I finally decided to drop some money on some lifting shoes after almost hurting myself doing a 100 kg clean with running shoes!
Man has this purchase has been well worth the money. I feel connected with the ground and I'm able to get even lower in my ATG squats which I thought was impossible. The stability of the shoe is just insane. I feel more confident doing heavier jerk and split presses just because I feel way more stable.
Granted this is my first pair of lifting shoes, and I'm comparing this against Nike Lunar running shoes and Nike Free 2.0's, however I've also lifted in Vans and chucks and these things are literally night and day.
I feel that the sizing is true to size, I have some Adidas Samba's that I wear casually from time to time and these are basically the same fit. Though these had a little more toe wiggle room in comparison to my sambas.
I think the only Con about these shoes is that I wish I would of purchased these a few years ago!
Pros: good traction, high performance, lightweight, runs true to size, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: runs narrow, poor arch support
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for adidas Powerlift Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT VALUE

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Indiana PA
I purchased this shoe as an all purpose weight training shoe and have found that they not only provide good support and good body position, but they also are comfortable to walk around in at the gym.
I had competed in masters level powerlifting contests for five years and used the Adidas high end shoe at that time. I like the powerlift trainer shoe for overall comfort and versatility better than my previous
competition shoe.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for adidas Powerlift Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for Crossfit

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I have been doing Crossfit for a couple of months and really wanted to start lifting heavier weights. I didn't really want to spend the money in buying a weightlfting shoe just to wear it for a few lifts and then switch shoes again when I was ready to do the WOD. So I bought these instead. They are still flexible enough to where you can do box jumps and double-unders. You could even run in them, but I wouldn't do anything over 200m.
Being a flat sole shoe, you will really notice a difference in your lifts and wall-balls. I use them every chance I get.
These are the perfect price, and definitley worth the money. You will see an all around difference the second you put them on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for adidas Powerlift Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Shoe was too narrow for me.

PostedApril 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I've been looking for a good weightlifting shoe for squats and dead lifts. I could not find any local store that stocked any, so I had to order them on line. These seem reasonably well made and they look better in real life than in the photos. They look more silvery and less white in real life. Still, in the broad scheme of things, these are not attractive and they are too loud for my taste. Anyway, they only come in one width and my feet are a little too wide for them. It is important for one's feet to spread out during heavy lifts and these simply did not allow that. So, yes, I would recommend them, but only for persons with narrow feet.
Cons: runs narrow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for adidas Powerlift Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe.

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty much exactly what I expected. It's a very solid shoe, your feet feel very secure on the ground. Not only is the heel raised, but the back end of the shoe extends farther out than on a normal shoe. This means not only is it easier to use your heels to drive up when squatting(from the raised heel), but also your feet feel much more stable when you do so(because of the extended back end, essentially its very hard for the front end of the shoe to lift up off the ground). The strap also helps keep your foot secure inside the shoe. Finally the shoe just looks nice which is also a plus. Overall very satisfied.
Pros: high performance, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for adidas Powerlift Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really nice shoe

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Ranger, GA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I was purchasing for function and didn't think the look was that great from the picture... plus they were sold out of the color I wanted in my size.... bummer. I went ahead and got the red ones and I have gotten numerous complements on them just in the few days I've wore them in the gym. They seem to really help with stress points during my squats and make them feel more natural. The support is out of this world, you won't want to walk in these, they are strictly a weight room shoe.
Pros: high performance, lightweight, good arch support, durable, breathable, leg day shoe
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for adidas Powerlift Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stop looking any further!

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Oslo
I've bought a lot of shoes in my time - both for sports and for everyday life. But few times over the years have I've been so happy for a pair of shoes. I do squats, deadlifts and benchpress several times a week, and these shoes work wonder! I just love them. Also, I bought the ones in grey and feel they are really fresh. I know I sound like I'm getting paid to write nice stuff, but these shoes are really this good. Best of luck!
Pros: good traction, high performance, comfortable, breathable
Cons: the toe box is a bit too hard
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for adidas Powerlift Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's very good, but you have to get used to it

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Toronto
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Having always used running shoes in my workouts, when i tire the Adidas Powerlift i felt them too rigid and kind of hot, but after my first leg workout i got used and felt a big diference and now I need them not just for leg workouts, but for any exercises where i want to ensure good stability.
Pros: high performance, good arch support, adds stability and promotes good posture
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for adidas Powerlift Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wides Needed

PostedJune 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Ringgold, LA and Louisiana College in Pineville, L
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
The shoe is perfect except for there wasn't an option for wide width. I have very wide feet and tried to find wide width but there was none. I wear them for the 1-1/2 each week day for training then get them off. They are perfect every other way. Thank you!
Pros: lightweight, high performance, good arch support, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: no wide width
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for adidas Powerlift Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe, great price

PostedJune 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Miami, Fl
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Shoes are awesome couldn't find a better shoe for a better price any day! Fit perfect true to size felt tight at first but after one use fit perfect. Great quality and great look. Just wish they had them in blue w/slime :(
Pros: good traction, lightweight, high performance, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for adidas Powerlift Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Boston, MA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Great shoe for a beginner in weightlifting.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, runs true to size, durable, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for adidas Powerlift Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These shoes work

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Miami Beach, Fl
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I was tired of "blowing out" my running shoes on the leg press. These shoes add stability. I no longer feel like I'm pushing through foam. Very good comfort and function.
Pros: lightweight, durable, comfortable, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for adidas Powerlift Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Squatting on easy mode

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Definitely reccomend these. Great support, good heel lift (1/2"), comfortable, and they look cool too. They make deep squats feel like parallel squats. Buy them.
Pros: high performance, comfortable, good cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for adidas Powerlift Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome shoe

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Missouri
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
This shoe is very sturdy and keeps my squat form in check. Great for intermediate lifters looking to squat and deadlift with good technique.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for adidas Powerlift Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gift for my husband

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
from West Virginia
I purchased this product for:other family/friend
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I got these shoes as a gift for my husband who lifts. He loves the shoes. l
Pros: good traction, high performance, lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for adidas Powerlift Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome for crossfit.

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from so cal
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i am an intermediate olympic lifter and a crossfitter and these shoes are awesome.
Pros: good traction, lightweight, high performance, comfortable
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for adidas Powerlift Trainer - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good for some added stability

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from PA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
enjoy the shoes, helps with stability. especially with snatches, hand cleans etc...
Pros: good traction, lightweight
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for adidas Powerlift Trainer - Men's
Based on the average of (62) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.6 / 5
4.6 / 5
60 out of 62 recommend this product