Customer Reviews for Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Footlocker.

Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's

Ideal for a wide range of runners, this minimal men’s running shoe promotes a natural running motion while maintaining the cushioning and support runners have come to love from Nike. Main Features Weight: 9.4 oz. (size 9) Lightweight mesh upper with reinforced overlays to provide support and durability. Full innersleeve for a sock-like fit. Resilient Phylite midsole/outsole absorbs impact and springs back for added responsiveness. Abrasion-resistant BRS 1000 carbon rubber under the highest wear areas of the outsole. Additional Information Drawing its inspiration from the anatomy of the foot, the Free Run+ 2’s upper features a multiple layers in a lattice-like configuration much like the ligaments, tendons and bones in the human foot. This provides increased strength and support with less mass. The midsole/outsole construction features deep sipes, or grooves, for increased flexibility. These sipes encourage a smoother, naturally neutral ride which provides the strengthening benefits of barefoot running without sacrificing the protection from both the surface you are running on and the impact of each step.
Average Customer Rating:
4.737 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(472 Reviews) 472
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 472 reviews
5 stars
388
4 stars
56
3 stars
19
2 stars
6
1 star
3
457 out of 472(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's
Review 1 for Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Bad color!! Doesn't match whats on the description

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:fashion
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
Bad color!! Doesn't match whats on the description!! Gray\Black\Yellow!!!
What I receive is black n yellow!! check out the pix!! Please check the description.
Im returning the shoes
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Looks big but looks are deceiving...

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Newark, DE
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
i purchased these because I had seen other Free Run 2+ shoes in the stores but not this color...I should have tried on the shoes I had seen first before ordering these. The shoes fit but the toe box looks wide and really isn't. These shoes tend to run a bit small in both length and width. In addition, the inside of the shoe that hits the top of your foot in the toe box, is a bit course. I don't know if I could see myself being comfortable without socks because of the area being rough. I hoped that they would better the Reebok Real Flex shoes I have. They are just as light and flexible, better looking but the finish on the inside makes them iffy. Time will tell though as I have only wore them a few days. I will say however, they seem to be fairly comfortable and haven't caused any issues so far...hope they become my summer stand by when sandals or flip flops don't cut it.
Pros: lightweight, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: rough interior
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A ok shoes

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Houston, Texas
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This shoe is fantastic when I first got it, but after a while the foam of the out sole smoothens out and it gets very slippery. I dont recommend it if you are going on out running outdoor because the foam is going to get worn out and it is not going to be comfortable and the sole are going to start tearing. If you just use them for inside running or a everyday shoe you wear, i would recommend buying it because you are not doing to much wear and tear to the shoe, then the shoe can last longer and still be comfortable. Overall a nice shoe.
Pros: lightweight, breathable, lots of freedom in movement
Cons: non-durable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shoe ever, very practical

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from San Diego, Ca
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
I bought the Platinum Gray ones in January and am still wearing them daily.
I went to Taiwan for half a year and was looking for a breathable comfortable shoe that could withstand almost any condition that could be easily washed and dried quickly while looking good and this did the job! It was very humid and rainy most of my time there and these shoes were back to new each time I cleaned them!
This is my favorite pair of Nikes and I am an avid Nike fan, with many various pairs for practical use in my inventory.
The main wear on my pair is mostly the sole, but I plan to wear them til death.
It has been difficult finding decent colors since the new Frees came out so I picked up a new Royal Blue pair for when these die. I wish more of these were still around, they look and feel so much better than the new gen Frees.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from stafford,va
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
7 / 5
7 / 5
shoes are very light good for long distance running i have a size 15 shoe and bad feet i ran the boston marathon in a pair of these and had no problems by the way im 6'11"
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for high arches!

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from NJ
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Finally a running shoe that can accomodate my high arch and keep me from experiencing the pain that caused me to have to stop running in my previous shoes!
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, comfortable, breathable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pair of shoes

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Dallas tx
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Their kinda narrow for people with wide feet, so I just order 1/2 size bigger and it work out perfectly. Great price for light weight running shoes.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
Cons: narrow for people with wide feet
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Fort Worth, TX
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
My son absolutely loves these shoes! They fit just fine and the colors are vibrant and fun. He's gotten a lot of compliments. Thank you :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shoe

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Richland Center, WI
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These are the lightest, stylish, and best shoes you could get for running, workouts, or everyday wear.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe. Very comfortable

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love this shoe. Fits a little more narrow which is perfect for me. Length may run a little short to size
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, breathable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome

PostedApril 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
from California
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I just bought these a few days ago, and have just started running consistently. These shoes are great!! Very light and very comfortable. I'm only running about 2 miles in them, but when I finish, my feet feel great. I would also recommend nike dri-fit socks with these. When I wear the combination of the two, my feet never get hot. I would highly recommend these shoes, at least for people running in the range of 2 miles. I haven't tested them for longer distances or sprints yet. Also not sure of the durability since I have just started using them.
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Free Run 2, not better than the first generation

PostedApril 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from austin, tx
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I love(d) my first generation free runners. The fit and comfort for me were ideal. The newer style is almost identical, but I don't like them quite as much. Still, they are great kicks. I don't jog in them, but I really like to use them when I go to the gym to lift or do agility drills. The new upper seems to have a bit more lateral stability than the older version. With wide feet you can't beat these barefoot style running shoes.
Pros: lightweight, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very minimalist feel and variety of styles

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Akron, OH
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Nike Free Run 2 is one of the best running shoes I've come across. It has the minimalist features everyone seems to be looking for including the very flexible sole! But this does not give way to comfort, the free run 2 is a very comfortable shoe. Finally the variety of colors is wonderful, to suit many personalities, and to show off while on the run! thanks Nike, for another great shoe.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable, stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best running shoe period.

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento, CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
very small 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Threw my bulky Brooks in the garbage after running in these. Ridiculously lightweight, great design and overall look. They run a size small as I am a 12 but these I bought in a 13 and fit perfectly.
I had written off Nike until these and can say for the typical runner like me who does 4-6 mile runs a few days a week, you can't pick a better shoe. These weigh next to nothing.. Awesome!
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
These shoes fit perfectly. Definitely order a half size bigger than your regular shoe size. They are great for the gym and to run in and are incredibly lightweight providing extreme comfort and a good arch support. As for durability, they seem to hold up their value and I've had no problems to this point. This color definitely catches one's eye and turns heads as well.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome shoe!!

PostedMay 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Sydney. Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I have a collection of many different types of Nikes... and I didnt own any of these. When I saw so many people wearing them I thought they must be on to something .... So I bought a pair. They are the best! They feel like you arent even wearing shoes, light and flexible. But still provide the protection of footwear. I've actually just ordered a second pair ... :)
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome running shoes!

PostedMay 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
I just bought these after doing a lot of research for a good pair of running shoes, and I'm very happy with them. They are very lightweight and made out of good quality material and very comfortable. I ordered them in my normal size and they fit perfect, so you shouldn't have to worry about going a size bigger or smaller. Overall I definitely recommend these shoes
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Shoes Ever!

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Eureka, Ca
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought these shoes not for running but for volleyball. My team and i plays volleyball on the grass a lot then we do on the cement, but i can tell you this. these shoes feels like im not wearing nothing at all SUPER light! love how these shoes "moves" with your feet. the grip on the grass is unbelievable. highly recommend these shoes if your a volleyball player.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very useful for jogging

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Switzerland
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like the Free Run +2 for jogging. I'm a forefoot runner and this shoe is perfect for me. I like the feeling - it's close to run bare foot. I wouldn't recommend this shoe just for casual wear or fashion. There are more comfortable shoes for that.
Size: I bought a number 10. For running/jogging it's okay - just for fashion I would choose the 9.5.
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, comfortable
Cons: difficult to put on
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike Free Run + 2 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent shoes want to walk and walk and walk

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Chicago, IL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing feeling that you want to run and walk, walk fast. When the weather is good I walk to work approximately 20 minutes. Fast walk. The first time I put on these shoes, I was able to shave off 6-8 minutes on the same route.Effortless movement. When I take off these shoes after 8-10 hours of using them, I do not feel any fatigue. Great shoes
Pros: lightweight, good arch support, comfortable, good cushioning, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>