Customer Reviews for Nike Cortez - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Footlocker.

Nike Cortez - Men's

Indulge in track-running nostalgia with the Nike Cortez shoe. This contemporary update of the Bowerman-designed classic features a basic, good-looking profile that never gets old. Has an upper construction that provides a supreme fit and feel and a wedge EVA midsole that delivers lightweight cushioning. The outsole is a durable rubber with herringbone tread, which provides a great stop-and-go traction.
Average Customer Rating:
4.448 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(295 Reviews) 295
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 295 reviews
5 stars
200
4 stars
60
3 stars
14
2 stars
9
1 star
12
273 out of 295(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Nike Cortez - Men's
Review 1 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worn them all my adult life.

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dryden, NY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
User submitted photo
I buy a pair in Blue and a pair in the original Red swoosh, and swap them so that I have a Red one and a Blue on at the same time. It's almost a trademark look of mine, and I have worn them this way for thirty-five years on four continents around the world. The photo here shows me at work in them. (I work on rock concerts. This was the Grateful Dead, in 1986.)
What disappoints me is not being able to get the original Red ones. I can't imagine why Nike would not have the original Red ones available, and certainly wish they were.
Please, please, please: bring them back. Please. You're disrupting a life-long tradition.
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome obsidian blue

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
User submitted photo
These shoes are awesome. I got the leather obsidian blue ones and they look great, go with anything, and they are very comfy.
Pros: lightweight, cool colors, stylish, runs true to size, easy to clean, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ups and Downs

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from california
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
I've had many pairs of shoes in the past, but one shoe that I've purchased on many occasions is the Nike Cortez, I litterly bought this shoe 9 different times back to back switched and came back to this shoe, There is a lot of positive things about this shoe, They can long last especially the swayed edition , but after along while they wont look so good if you're wearing them on a regular occasion, Though you must know this shoe was intended for running but is now a common gang related shoe and can be fatal if you're wearing them with the wrong colors on the wrong side of the tracks, but it also would depend on your race, I am just being honest, I wore these shoes so many times because I know the problems they can bring and know how to handle them, My opinion is the shoes should come with a warning sign, but overall it is a great long lasting shoe , meaning the shoe wont look so great after a while but it will still last and be useable.
Pros: lightweight, cool colors, runs true to size, stylish, durable, easy to clean, comfortable, stays clean a long time, breathable
Cons: gets dirty fast, uncomfortable, runs large
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Product was okay

PostedMay 30, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Sterling Heights, MI
I purchased this product for:other family/friend
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Very disappointed with this shoe. It was purchased for my husband and I ordered his true size and it was WAY TO SMALL. I had to return it & get a whole size larger. When he got the new size he said there was no support & after walking in them for a while his feet really hurt. Maybe they need to be broken in, I don't know. I was hoping he could wear them everyday but that is not the case. Only for casual wear not everyday.
Pros: lightweight, cool colors
Cons: uncomfortable, runs small
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Greensboro, NC
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Everything I want in a good looking & comfortable tennis shoe!
I bought 5 pair and have worn ONLY this tennis shoe for years!
Pros: comfortable, durable, lightweight, breathable, stays clean a long time, easy to clean, cool colors, runs true to size, stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

sneakers look great, fit was true to size

PostedJune 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia, Pa
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
The Nike Cortez sneakers were exactly what I paid for. They arrived in great condition, fit perfectly
the color was great and they didn't take long after ordering for delivery
Pros: comfortable, durable, stays clean a long time, easy to clean, cool colors, runs true to size, stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 4, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Bozeman, MT.
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Keep the Cortez's coming! It's my favorite shoe. It would be nice to see more black/black with white stripe in the sole for men's sizes. (Leather)
Pros: comfortable, durable, lightweight, easy to clean, cool colors, runs true to size, stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not black

PostedMay 20, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Richmond
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Well, unfortunately the shoe is not what I wanted but will keep it in the collection regardless. Obsidian is known to describe black and at times also blue, had the shoe not looked black on the site I would have been able to decide easier what color it was.
Pros: comfortable, durable, lightweight, stays clean a long time, easy to clean, runs true to size, stylish
Cons: not breathable, not enough colors
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 5, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Miami, FL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Love it! It's a classic. Need to buy a black pair ASAP!
Pros: comfortable, lightweight, easy to clean, cool colors, runs true to size
Cons: gets dirty fast, runs small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cortez to Cortez

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Customer Avatar
from New York, NY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:fashion
Great sneaker. Looks like a simple design, but definitely gives off a sleek, stylish and killah look.. Very comfortable, great cushion and easy on the arch..
As for size, order up one size for a good fit.. And You must definitely order up a size if your foot is even slightly wide, yes a whole size up. I normally wear USA 11 but needed a usa 12 and they fit amazingly well.
The colors are really cool and true the basic color scale. These are all mostly leather so easy to clean.. The burgandy pair has suede running down the front, the others are all leather..
Pros: lightweight, cool colors, stylish, durable, easy to clean, comfortable
Cons: runs narrow, runs small, not breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very comfortable

PostedApril 29, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Green Bay, Wisconsin
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
This is a sharp looking, comfortable shoe. Great for walking or being on your feet all day!
Pros: comfortable, lightweight, easy to clean, cool colors, stylish
Cons: runs small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Quality totally gone

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Even as late as 2009, Nike built the cortez nylon with loads of comfort and flexible design. It is my sad duty to report that all the comfort and quality are gone in favor of lower cost and bigger margins. Cortez is no longer an icon of style. It is now little more than cheap Chinese trash designed to bring higher profits from people who have forgotten what made it so great in the 80s and 90s.
Well, I haven't forgotten, and would recommend you not forget either. Should've loaded up before the bean counters took over the design department.
...oh, and it runs about a full size smaller than it did 6 years ago.
Pros: stylish
Cons: runs small, uncomfortable, heavy, not breathable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Buffalo NY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Great shoes. I would recommend these to people I know.
Pros: lightweight, cool colors, runs true to size, stylish, durable, comfortable
Cons: not breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!!!

PostedApril 15, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Chicago
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:fashion
Love them! Run small, so I'm glad I went with the men's 7...fit perfectly! (FYI: I'm normally a womans 7 1/2-8 and the men's 7 fit perfect )
Pros: lightweight, cool colors, stylish, durable, comfortable, breathable
Cons: runs small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

luv these shoe

PostedApril 13, 2015
Customer Avatar
from colorado
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Always keep it old skool.. wish thy has a royal blue color or a baby blue.
Pros: lightweight, stylish, runs true to size, easy to clean, durable, comfortable, stays clean a long time, breathable
Cons: not enough colors
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love them!

PostedApril 12, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Sydney, Australia
Brings back memories! Most comfortable
Pros: durable, comfortable
Cons: gets dirty fast, not breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it :)

PostedApril 6, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Fort Lauderdale, Florida
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Great shoes. Comfortable. Nice, casual shoes to go out with.
Pros: lightweight, cool colors, stylish, durable, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Colors need to be more exact

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from SD
Love the shoes, but they should call it Obsidian BLUE! It looks black in the pictures, and who the heck knows what Obsidian is for a color; it is Navy. Call it something people recognize so we don't ship it in just to realize it was the wrong color.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

runs small

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Mt. pleasant, MI
I purchased this product for:other family/friend
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
ordered these for my boyfriend and they didnt fit at all, very disappointed because he's been wanting these shoes for a very long time. He said they felt an entire size too small.
Pros: cool colors, stylish
Cons: runs small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best shoe on the planet!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Lorain, IH
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
"Nike Cortez are the best shoe of all time." - GOD
Pros: lightweight, stylish, durable, easy to clean, comfortable, stays clean a long time
Cons: runs narrow, not enough colors
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>