Customer Reviews for Nike Cortez - Men's

Nike Cortez - Men's

This casual classic adds retro running style to your everyday style. Nylon, leather, and/or suede upper. EVA midsole offers stable, durable cushioning. Rubber outsole provides traction and durability.
Average Customer Rating:
4.402 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(356 Reviews) 356
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 356 reviews
5 stars
237
4 stars
72
3 stars
18
2 stars
11
1 star
18
323 out of 356(91%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nike Cortez - Men's
Review 1 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

First bad pairs of leather cortez since I was 14!

PostedJune 30, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Colorado
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I'm not an internet review critic whiner guy. I was sent an e-mail to review this product. So here it is. I've been wearing "Nike Leather Cortez" since I was 14 years old. I'm certain I've owned over 100 pairs, cause I just turned 50. Yes, I'm old, and these shoes made me cranky enough to post this review on the internet. I love the leather cortez. I bought two pairs of this model, and I think the issue is that they are using "thinner leather" on this model.
The two pairs of white shoes have been worn no more than two days each. They look messed up, creased, I'll attach an image.
The second image of the single pair with the red stripe, that pair is 4 years old, at least, and the leather actually looks better on the older pair, and it is OBVIOUSLY of better quality than the two pairs I just received.
With this order came 3 pairs of "Black on Black Leather Cortez". I've yet to wear any of them, I was saving them to be my "Church Shoes". But now I'm gonna try a pair and see if they are as substandard as the two white pairs in this pick. I'm way disappointed, cause you don't buy the same pair of shoes for 36 straight years, if you don't like them.
I hope Foot Locker will take my return. I really hope the black/black pairs are up to par. I'm not gonna add any Pros to this list, as I see the "non-durable" CON as a huge trump card in this particular case.
What a bummer!
Cons: non-durable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worn them all my adult life.

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Dryden, NY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
User submitted photo
I buy a pair in Blue and a pair in the original Red swoosh, and swap them so that I have a Red one and a Blue on at the same time. It's almost a trademark look of mine, and I have worn them this way for thirty-five years on four continents around the world. The photo here shows me at work in them. (I work on rock concerts. This was the Grateful Dead, in 1986.)
What disappoints me is not being able to get the original Red ones. I can't imagine why Nike would not have the original Red ones available, and certainly wish they were.
Please, please, please: bring them back. Please. You're disrupting a life-long tradition.
+17points
21of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome obsidian blue

PostedJune 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
User submitted photo
These shoes are awesome. I got the leather obsidian blue ones and they look great, go with anything, and they are very comfy.
Pros: lightweight, cool colors, stylish, runs true to size, easy to clean, comfortable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cared about comfort, didn't care about features

PostedJuly 18, 2016
Customer Avatar
from San Antonio, TX
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:fashion
Cortez's are one of my favorite shoes, classic, and stylish. When I buy from the store everything is right and perfect as I expect. But my first time ordering from online, there was some pink rubbery elastic attached to the bottom of one of the swooshes, and a lump of white like it was painted over on the other. And not a big deal at all, but the silver in the laces one was upside down, easy fixable, and the laces were wayyy to small, I like to tie them all the way up and unlike a visit to the store, the delivery version were way small but it's unseen with jeans. Overall it was comfortable as always, and durable. I definetley recommend this to anyone
Pros: cool colors, comfortable, durable, stylish
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love Them

PostedJuly 20, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Georgetown, TX
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:fashion
Love these shoes. They're comfortable and a classic throwback.
Pros: cool colors, comfortable, stylish, runs true to size, lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Alltime Great

PostedJuly 14, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Sydney, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:fashion
Product description is always sufficient. I just love 'em !!
Pros: easy to clean, stays clean a long time, cool colors, comfortable, durable, stylish, runs true to size, lightweight
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

oldies but goodies

PostedJune 28, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Helotes TX
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
These will always be my favorite NIKE shoes of all time, once this pair gives out I'm going to purchase a new set of NIKE cortez shoes. I can't wait to order the leather black and white cortez. Long time ago I had the British Knights Cortez nylon material shoes, they were a duplicate of the NIKE cortez but they couldn't match, and their material gave out. Nike cortez continued to prevail. NIKE will always be the best tennis shoes, no matter how hard the competitors try to compete, they are just no match for NIKE. Even Forest Gump wore NIKE Cortez shoes !!!!
Pros: comfortable, durable, lightweight, breathable, stays clean a long time, easy to clean, cool colors, runs true to size, stylish
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Old school shoes

PostedJuly 5, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Romeoville Illinois
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
I enjoyed the shoe overall it is very comfortable. Unfortunately that told box area is extremely unstable it literally mimics your total movement if you told MoveOn and sign it appears on the outside. I'm shocked that I'm saying this however, the shoe is too soft.
Pros: breathable, comfortable, runs true to size
Cons: gets dirty fast, non-durable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJune 24, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Rochester,mn
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Love this shoes ,wish they came in more colors
Pros: comfortable, durable, lightweight, stays clean a long time, easy to clean, runs true to size, stylish
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad to see this classic back on the market

PostedJune 16, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Louisiana
I purchased this product for:other family/friend
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Bought these for my 14 yr old son who is very picky when it comes to footwear. He loves them! The white goes great with casual style clothing.
Pros: comfortable, lightweight, runs true to size, stylish
Cons: gets dirty fast
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great classic look but beware, very narrow

PostedJune 10, 2016
Customer Avatar
from New York
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Love the classic style of these but ordered my normal size and they are just too tight. Will be exchanging and sizing up. If you wide feet keep in mind they are very narrow. Otherwise great sneaker.
Pros: comfortable, lightweight, stylish
Cons: runs narrow
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

size has changed

PostedMay 18, 2016
Customer Avatar
from NJ
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
I've bought these for years, the same exact size I ordered, but these are smaller. I am going to have to exchange them for a larger size. I see they are made in a different country, perhaps that has something to do with it.
Cons: runs small
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad fit

PostedMay 9, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Michigan
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
All the other shoes I have ordered were size 12 and fit great. The Nikes are very narrow and too tight.
Cons: uncomfortable, runs small, runs narrow
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not like the ones purchased in the past

PostedMay 9, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Alabama
I purchased this product for:other family/friend
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:fashion
Wasn't the same as the Cortez purchased in the stores.
Pros: durable, lightweight, easy to clean, runs true to size
Cons: not very stylish
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ups and Downs

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from california
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
I've had many pairs of shoes in the past, but one shoe that I've purchased on many occasions is the Nike Cortez, I litterly bought this shoe 9 different times back to back switched and came back to this shoe, There is a lot of positive things about this shoe, They can long last especially the swayed edition , but after along while they wont look so good if you're wearing them on a regular occasion, Though you must know this shoe was intended for running but is now a common gang related shoe and can be fatal if you're wearing them with the wrong colors on the wrong side of the tracks, but it also would depend on your race, I am just being honest, I wore these shoes so many times because I know the problems they can bring and know how to handle them, My opinion is the shoes should come with a warning sign, but overall it is a great long lasting shoe , meaning the shoe wont look so great after a while but it will still last and be useable.
Pros: lightweight, cool colors, runs true to size, stylish, durable, easy to clean, comfortable, stays clean a long time, breathable
Cons: gets dirty fast, uncomfortable, runs large
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Old School Style

PostedApril 2, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Cerritos
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
This shoe is stylish as well as comfortable. I owned a pair in the 80's Runs pretty true to size. Great quality, well made.
Pros: comfortable, durable, easy to clean, stylish
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good shoes, but fit small

PostedMarch 29, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Sacramento, CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
They are comfortable and very stylish but they fit a size small. Be sure to order a size up if you buy these.
Pros: comfortable, easy to clean, stylish
Cons: not breathable, runs small
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfortable

PostedMarch 24, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Union City New Jersey
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Great shoes they look good and feel great when you wear them
Pros: comfortable, lightweight, stays clean a long time, easy to clean, cool colors
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shoe but Runs Small

PostedJanuary 13, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Virginia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:fashion
Love the shoe but it runs a while size too small so size up!
Pros: lightweight, breathable, cool colors, stylish
Cons: runs small
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike Cortez - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best All Round Shoe

PostedSeptember 24, 2015
Customer Avatar
from Amherst, VA USA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
I've been wearing the Cortez since the '70s. As a performer, they were my on stage shoe for decades. Very comfortable with good support (I have fallen arches). I use them for everyday, hiking, climbing on rocks (grip wet rocks great), and exercising. With a bit of maintenance, they will take a lot of use and abuse.
Be wary of the size. From the '70s to the '90s, I could order a 10.5 and be assured a good fit. Then the sizing changed. I wear an 11 in custom made boots, but require an 11.5 in the modern Cortez shoe. They do run small. Width is good - but order a half to a whole size larger, depending upon how close your current size fits.
So glad they have the solid black leather Cortez available again. They seem to come and go. Gonna grab an extra pair to put away this time.
Cheers
Pros: comfortable, durable, lightweight, breathable, easy to clean
Cons: runs small
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>