Customer Reviews for Nike Air Flight 89 - Men's

Nike Air Flight 89 - Men's

The present meets the past in this cool, retro-style shoe from Nike. The Nike Men's Air Flight '89 features a soft nubuck upper with visible Air® unit in the heel for comfort and cushioning. Rubber outsole delivers dependable traction.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
5 stars
36
4 stars
19
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
1
62 out of 68(91%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Nike Air Flight 89 - Men's
Review 1 for Nike Air Flight 89 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I was so excited when I heard 89s were back

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Australia
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
however the overall product is severely lacking in my opinion...
The earlier retro's generally featured premium leather whereas the majority of the current retro's are very cheap looking to me (apart from the nubuck versions).
I have at least 8 colourways of the older 89s and planned to blindly buy all the new colours, however once I saw them in person I was very let down by the lack of the premium cracked leather synonymous with the 89 flight, they almost look bootleg in their current form.
Also I wear an 11.5 or 12 in most Nike/Jordan's but have always worn an 11 in 89s to lessen the creasing and to allow wearing unlaced, however the current 89 is much smaller and the 11 is painfully uncomfortable and I feel I would have to go with a 12
I just wish Nike showed the same attention to detail that they did in the 90's, there is too much focus on the bottom line and cost cutting which results in a sub-par product.
Pros: all time classic design
Cons: creases easily, runs small, looks cheap
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Air Flight 89 - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very stylish

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
from México
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:training/going to the gym
Runs small and a little bit heavy but it seems to be cool for walking around or training.
Pros: good traction, cool colors, stylish, durable
Cons: runs small, heavy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Air Flight 89 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Buffalo, NY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
The air flight 89 is a pretty good shoe it has a great design, props to the designers, I like the colorways a lot, although I like the set up with the air unit in the heel, I don't like how un-breathable it is, i played basketball outdoors in the rain and no rain got inside my shoes, that shows how little air was getting through, also it creases within the first day you wear them, let's face it you aren't going to prevent creases but within the first 5 hours and they crease, no, it's a ow cut to mid cut shoe so ankle support isn't there, but they are actually pretty comfortable.
Pros: breaks in easy, good traction, cool colors, stylish, runs true to size, easy to clean, comfortable
Cons: poor ankle support, gets dirty fast, creases easily, heavy, not breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Air Flight 89 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lateral support and sole for the court.

PostedApril 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Lebanon, Oregon
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I used to wear these shoes in the early '90's and loved them. I was so glad when I found out I could buy them again on Footlocker.com. They have great lateral support for basketball and other court sports. These are tough durable shoes that will last a long time for the hard core baller. If you want a mid high shoe that is great then you found it in this shoe! No regrets with buying this shoe. Thanks for bringing back the shoe. Now I would love to see the "89 flight classic ST" (same shoe but with the mid foot strap to be available.
Pros: cool colors, stylish, durable, good ankle support, good traction, easy to clean, comfortable, stays clean a long time
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Air Flight 89 - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good, but not great

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Denver, CO
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
These are decent shoes (for the most part). They look great and remind me of the days of my youth. One negative is that they run a bit narrow. The other is that they have a huge tongue (will look great with jeans, but maybe not with shorts depending on how thick your ankles are). They do crease easily, but then again, so did the originals in '89 so nothing new here. Pick up a pair of "sneaker shields" to combat the creasing and you'll be looking good.
Pros: cool colors, durable, easy to clean, a sexy shoe
Cons: runs narrow, creases easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Air Flight 89 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More retros please!!

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Philly
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
I bought a few pairs of these in different colorways that are exclusive to different sneaker chains. These retros look just how I remember them from when I was a kid, and the black.anthracite ones look like a million $$s! Please Nike, more late 80s-early 90s retros like this!
Pros: stylish, runs true to size, durable, good ankle support, good traction, comfortable
Cons: runs narrow
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Air Flight 89 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
from fort lauderdale
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Cool shoe not to comfortable I wear a 13 and brought a 14 and it was a narrow fit and small fit but other than that great nice shoe
Pros: good traction, cool colors, stylish, durable, comfortable, good ankle support
Cons: runs narrow, runs small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Air Flight 89 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Cape Cod,MA
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Cool Retro colors comfortable.
Pros: lightweight, cool colors, runs true to size, easy to clean, comfortable, stays clean a long time
Cons: creases easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Air Flight 89 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedJune 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Miami Fl,
I purchased this product for:other family/friend
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
I really like those shoes
Pros: lightweight, comfortable, good ankle support, breathable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Air Flight 89 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great looking sneaker

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
from NYC
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
I was looking for a nice Red and white sneaker and this one fits exactly what I need. Stylish, comfortable, classic look. Have received a lot of compliments on them.
Pros: breaks in easy, cool colors, stylish, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Air Flight 89 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good and Classic Air Flight

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Taoyuan, Taiwan
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I owned this shoes in 1990. It's my first NIKE shoes. After many years, the Air Flight Series still good and classical one amount many basketball shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike Air Flight 89 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Birthday gift

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Dracut,Ma
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
My son loved it...very reasonal price.
Pros: runs true to size, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Air Flight 89 - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It's okay

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Rad
Not all that Grey was better to me, but if I'd say so it's great I like grey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Air Flight 89 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

SHINIKE

PostedOctober 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
from stockton,ca
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
these shoes are the best
i hav never seen any thing like dem
the only ones that caught my eyes \
must buy
Pros: comfortable, durable, stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Air Flight 89 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Paris, France
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:fashion
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good old style with this shoes !
I recommand this product for fans of sneakers !
Pros: cool colors, stylish, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Air Flight 89 - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NICE SHOE, BUT NOT ENOUGH STYLE

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Upper Darby, PA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
OVERALL IDEA OF SHOE IS GOOD, BUT STYLE LACKS
Pros: easy to clean, comfortable
Cons: creases easily, not very stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Air Flight 89 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect fit ..good look

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Brooklyn
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Great fit and comfort ...love the style
Pros: cool colors, stylish, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Nike Air Flight 89 - Men's
Based on the average of (51) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.4 / 5
4.4 / 5
48 out of 51 recommend this product